A very important event on the Melbourne Calendar is the Annual Tour. Each tour has enjoyed tremendous support from the members. So important is this event, that a special position on committee, "The Special Activities Officer" needed to be created. Melbourne has been lucky to have had very dedicated and hardworking members take on this position. Each tour is full of great memories for those who attended.
It is interesting to note how much thought and organisation went into the 1967 tour to Swan Hill. A long list of "General instructions" was published in the Journal prior to the event:
Slow group must stick together as there are only three in this group. If one car stops, the other cars must stop to see if any help is needed.
If one of the fast group of cars stops, the next car must stop unless waved on. If you are looking for a you-know what, pull up a side road or stop at a town convenience. If you see two cars stopped keep going, unless waved down.
Fast group cars are not to pass slow group unless absolutely necessary, e.g. holding up traffic on a hill, etc. The last car in the fast group will not pass any car in the slow group. The last car will be taken in turn and will alternate.
Don't forget to take sufficient cash to cover Motel, petrol, food and drink. The $10 covers only your deposit on Motel accommodation.
Cost of accommodation at Swan Hill was $6 for one adult. Fifty-seven people, in thirteen club cars and six moderns made the trip.
Swan Hill has proved very popular and has been revisited three times.
All but three tours have been held over the three day, Queen's Birthday weekend in June. The other three have been held at Easter. Two tours were to Wagga Wagga to meet the Sydney Branch and the other was to Ballarat. No tour was held in 1978 due to the first National tour to Lockhart.

Swan Hill then

1967 Swan Hill
1968 Shepparton/Echuca
1969 Swan Hill
1970 Beechworth
1971 Easter: Wagga Wagga-Meet With The Sydney Branch
1972 Swan Hill
1973 Easter: Wagga Wagga-Meet With The Sydney Branch
1974 Lakes Entrance
1975 Portland
1976 Albury-Wodonga
1977 Hamilton
1978 National Tour Lockhart
1979 Rosebud
1980 Easter: Ballarat
1981 Marysville
1982 Phillip Island
1983 Shepparton
1984 Lorne
1985 Wodonga -
Celebrate The 10th Birthday Of Wodonga BranchSwan Hill now
1986 Ballarat National Tour
1987 Lakes Entrance
1988 Echuca
1989 Marysville
1990 Rawson
1991 Hepburn Springs
1992 Bendigo
1993 Beechworth
1994 Yarram
1995 Grampians - Halls Gap
1996 Swan Hill




find us on youtube button